Manny for nothing


Is Manny going to play in the All-Star game? Is he going to sit it out? Will he go to Pittsburg but not play? Will he play but not start? Let the intrigue begin.

Bud Selig: “I haven’t heard it directly from anyone on the Red Sox. I only know what I’ve read. All I can tell you is that I’m old-fashioned. I would hope that everybody who’s voted in and selected comes and that’s the way it’s supposed to be. I assume unless a player can’t physically play he’ll be there. I’ll talk to everybody if I have to. One thing I’m not is shy.”

Terry Francona: “What I’m hoping is going to happen — and again, if somebody’s going to take some heat, I hope it’s me. … I’ve already asked Manny to not play. I didn’t tell him he couldn’t play. I’ve asked him in the interest in our ballclub, I’m think it’s the best thing. I’m hoping that’s kind of what he’ll do.”

David Ortiz: “He hasn’t talked to me about it. It’s up to him. If he’s hurting, he’s got to chill out. If I was hurting, I’d chill out, too. The All-Star Game, that’s good, but you’ve got a second half coming up. We’re going to have a lot of doubleheaders, we need Manny.”

Manny Ramirez: (media silence)

The Sox are on a three-game losing streak and they’re getting bullied by the AL but the real story is whether Manny will play in an exhibition game. After all, this time it counts. (Boston media is the best.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Archives

Leave a Reply

